Tuesday, February 7, 2017

2017 NFL Hall of Fame Class

Over the weekend the 2017 NFL Hall of Fame Class was announced with LaDainian Tomlinson, Kurt Warner, Terrell Davis, Kenny Easley, Jason Taylor, Morten Andersen and Cowboys owner Jerry Jones announced as the most recent inductees.  

LaDainianTomlinson – Definitely my favorite inductee out of this class.  He was a great running back who was also a great receiver out of the backfield.  I loved watching him play for San Diego and he is truly deserving of getting into the Hall on the first ballot.
Kurt Warner – This guy could sling it.  I think he is one of those guys who despite a relatively short career has the resume for the Hall.  He took two teams to three Super Bowls while throwing for a ton of yards efficiently and racking up some monster years. 
Terrell Davis – Davis’ short career always made it tough on voters and even me.  But he was truly great even if he only had four effective years.  Those years, though, were outstanding – 1117, 1538, 1750 and 2008 yards while averaging a whopping 4.8 yards per carry during that timeframe before injuries limited him to 17 more games over three seasons. 
Kenny Easley – One of my favorite hard hitters from when I was a kid.  Glad to see him make it.
Jason Taylor – I kind of overlooked Taylor.  I was surprised at his sack totals, 139.5 good for 7th all-time, but I do remember him being a force throughout his career. 

Morten Anderson – You can say what you want about kickers but they do deserve a place in the Hall and Anderson deserves his enshrinement.  A look at his stats will show you he is at the top or near the top in totals for kickers all-time in multiple categories.  And he was the all-time leading scorer for two different teams.  wow
Jerry Jones – Love ‘em or hate ‘em, he has done much to influence the NFL even if it is just due to the debates he starts.   

No comments:

Post a Comment